Photoshoot Commentary

This week I did a fashion shoot that was inspired by Springtime.

I know what you’re thinking: Springtime is all about buying sundresses that are too long (and quite frankly, don’t give our legs any sun at all) and taking them to the tailors only to realize by the time we get them back, spring has left and not enough fabric has come off to make it a reliable summer dress.

Not to fear! You’ll be happy to know my collection features no sundresses (you’re welcome).

Instead, my photoshoot was inspired by the phrase, “April Showers Bring May Flowers”.  When I think of Spring, I think of the transition from Winter to Summer — some downs before we get to the ups.  This popular phase expresses so much meaning as well, and it’s that even though some of us might be going through hard times, there’s always a light at the end of the tunnel.

For the sake of the blog, we can compare it to how our body types may not be as tall and lean as supermodels’.  However, that shouldn’t stop us from expressing ourselves through our clothes and doing our best to make them one of a kind!

My first look and gif is the beginning of the phase, “April Showers…”.  My idea was to transition through the months with each picture.  Here, my model wears a raincoat as a dress.  I wanted to express that our sundresses might need to be tailored, but we can still wear unconventional articles of clothing as dresses because we’re short enough to so why not?!

Not gonna lie, I spent a few hours working on those things you see flying in the air (I really hope you thought that was rain).  I also incorporated some flowers in my model’s hair so that every picture had a little shower, and a little flower!

As our showers are turning into drizzles, I think it’s time to break out the bathing suits, am I right??

With the appearance of a little bit of rain of course, just because it looks so cool.  I put my model in a bathing suit top and high-waisted shorts because this look really anticipates the new warm season, and especially anticipates the beach (though it’s not time yet, Jenny, you’re just going to have to wait).

I also really like this look on petites because, and even my model agrees, high-waisted anything looks great on a short body.  The extra fabric on the torso makes your legs look longer simply because there’s more fabric! There must be legs under all that extra fabric right?  That’s what we want you to think.  Pair that with a short crop-top or bathing suit bikini top and you got yourself a great Spring Awakening outfit!

Spring is great and all, but be sure to keep that bathing suit on, because Summer is approaching!

Standard

Leave a Reply

